Dr. Cool Wraps Review

 

In January at the Winter Outdoor Retailer Market, I met with Kristen Bujold a PR rep for CGPR. After a few emails about possible gear reviews, she asked if I would be interested  in testing a new product called Dr. Cool Wraps. A fitness recovery product that combines cooling and compression in one flexible wrap. Great for icing injuries, as well as stabilizing sore joints.

Work great as an Ice pack, or just a brace

Work great as an Ice pack, or just a brace

After my initial preview of the product through the website link provided: http://www.drcoolrecovery.com/ I became excited. For the past 2 months, I had been battling a wrist injury I tweaked during a climbing session. And anyone who knows me, knows I am the worst at resting my injuries. I have trouble taking more than a week or two off. Not to mention my day job is quite physical, and requires a lot of joint motion.
 

 

 

So I accepted the offer to test and review the wrap. And I have to say, I have been very pleased with it. Now it’s easy to just I’ve down your wrist with a zip-lock filled with ice. But the Dr. Cool Wrap forms the ice compression around the joint. And acts as a brace at the same time. They come in a variety of colors, and 3 different sizes.

Dr. Cool Wraps come in many different colors & sizes

Dr. Cool Wraps come in many different colors & sizes

Small: 3 inch x 25, MSRP $24.99 – ankle, wrist, hand, elbow, foot, calf, arm
Medium: 4 inch x 50, MSRP $29.99 – ankle, elbow, knee, shoulder, thigh, calf, arm
Large: 6 inch x 50, MSRP $34.99 – back, hips, chest, torso
dr cool 038

 

 

 

The Wraps are made from a patented material that keeps colder longer than other fabrics. They are chemical free, and just need to add water, then freeze for 20 minutes. Wrap aching body part and let the cooling begin. Even works well in the field, so long as you can find a cool stream. Just soak it I’m cold water and wrap, will temporarily relieve aches.
Likes: Great form-fitting, works excellent for icing down. Easy to use, and they look much cooler than an ice pack.

Dislikes: When the ice wrap starts to warm up, there is a lot of water dripping. Will get your arm, leg, shirt, whatever wet. But them again, ice packs are very similar in that aspect.

Easy to use and adjust with the velcro strap

Easy to use and adjust with the velcro strap

Overall: Dr. Cool Wraps is pretty affordable. $24.99 for the small, $29.99 for the medium, and $39.99 for the large. Not bad considering the large can be wrapped around your waist. It also doubles as a brace. I think this product is worth it if you’re looking for a light weight, sturdy, compression/ice wrap.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UjX59WitY4Q
I am not currently an ambassador for Dr. Cool Wraps. I was asked to review a couple of articles as an independent blogger. I received this product for free, in return I agreed to test it and review it. In no way did this offer influence my review. The opinions expressed in this review are mine and mine alone.

Leave a Reply

